Cranberry Cocktail Meatballs

Hosted by Mercedes at Mercedes Rocks

Scrumptious Sunday Seventh Edition

Theme: Slow Cooker/Crock Pot

Cranberry Cocktail Meatballs

I make this when we have to bring finger foods to school for a special occasion

Ingredients

  • 1 bag frozen meatballs (5-6 dozen) I use the Italian Style
  • 1 16 oz. can jellied cranberry sauce I use two-some people use grape jelly
  • 1/2 cup ketchup

Directions

  • In a large saucepan over medium heat bring jellied cranberry sauce and ketchup to a boil.
  • Continue cooking at a simmer, stirring, for about two minutes
  • Add frozen (I thaw my meatballs first) meatballs to the sauce and completely cover meatballs with the sauce.
    • You can just add frozen meatballs to crockpot and pour sauce over meatballs, but I like to make sure the meatballs get completely covered and it is easier to stir in the large saucepan
  • Pour meatballs and sauce into crockpot
  • Cook on low 4-5 hours OR high 2-3 hours

Sunday Dinner: last week 4-6-08

  1. Country Style Ribs
  2. Creamed Potatoes
  3. Macaroni and Cheese
  4. Fried Corn
  5. Green Beans
  6. Pinto Beans
  7. Fried Okra
  8. Crescent Rolls
  9. Chocolate Marble Cake with Chocolate Frosting
  10. Vanilla Ice Cream
  11. Sweet Tea, SunDrop, and Water
Join the hostess and more participants by clicking icon below!
space

10 Responses

  1. These sound yummy and super easy. I have one that is similar. I’ll have to dig out the recipe and I’ll post it on an upcoming Slow Cooker Thrusday.

    Thanks! I’ll be looking for your recipe too! I enjoyed your Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore!

  2. I use frozen meatballs all the time and I am always looking for new ways to use them. This is a great recipe!

    Please add me to both blogrolls – SS and Hump Day Humor!

    I think the archive idea is awesome!

    ~Shannon

    Glad I could give you another idea for meatballs! I have added you to both blogrolls! Glad you like the archives idea! I am still working on updating the Hump Day Humor archives. Your Morrocan Chicken sounds interesting!

  3. These sound great! I think I’ll make them the next time we have a birthday luncheon at school! Thanks for sharing.

    I like that you are archiving all our recipies!

    Thank you! It’s a quick and easy finger food that is great for birthday luncheons at school. Glad you like the archives idea! Jedd is gonna love your Beef Tips and Rice…when ever I decide to make them-lol!

  4. here ya go-

    MANDARIN ORANGE CAKE

    1 box Duncan Hines butter cake mix
    11 oz. can mandarin oranges and juice
    4 eggs
    1/2 c. oil
    FILLING/ICING:
    3 oz. pkg. instant vanilla pudding
    20 oz. can crushed pineapple and juice
    8 oz. pkg. Cool Whip
    CAKE: Beat all ingredients together including the juice from the canned mandarin oranges. Pour into three 8 inch pans. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.
    FILLING/ICING: Beat together all ingredients and frost. Keep in refrigerator. This is an excellent “lite” dessert.

    I actually won a contest and got it published last year in “Feedback” magazine. Plus they gave me a $25 GC to Amazon and an apron.

    Thanks so much-I posted it in the archives! Congratulations to you on winning a contest and winning some wonderful prizes-woohoo!

  5. Mmmmmmmm….this meatball recipe sounds absolutely delish! And I’ve got some Hump Day Humor already waiting to be posted 😀

    Thank you! I can’t wait for your Hump Day Humor either! I am so excited that I finally completed the puzzle-lol!

  6. I had no idea there was such a thing as frozen meatballs. (I live a sheltered life). The recipe sounds wonderful.
    Now that I’ve discovered slow-cooking, I feel a life-change coming on.
    THANKS!

    LOL! I really enjoyed your Pork with Tangy Ginger Sauce! Sounds scrumptious! Thanks for stopping by!

  7. oooh, great idea! I had heard of grape jelly but not cranberry! and I LOVE cranberry! can’t wait to make them!!!

    I hope you enjoy it! My mom gave me the recipe-so easy and delicious! A hit at school too!

  8. Late making my rounds. Sounds delicious! Do stop by. I’ll save you a plate of my Just Peachy Cobbler. 😀

    For your daily dose of vintage goodness & a bit of silliness, stop by Confessions of an Apron Queen, the home of Vintage Thingies Thursdays.

    Thanks for coming over! I really enjoyed your post about the cookbook from 1663. You have an amazing site!

  9. how does it taste w chili powder added? sometimes my mom adds that to the grape jelly kind. just wondering. it might not do so well w the tartness of the cranberry…

    I looked at recipes and noticed many had chili sauce and cranberry-I have never used it though.

  10. Saw you on the main page girlfriend! 😉 These do sound great! hugs deb

    I was on the main page? Cool! I missed it! Hugs right back! Mere

Leave a comment