Prayers Needed

My cousin, M, has been battling Renal Cell Carcinoma for the past six years. It all started at an indoor soccer game. He will be 20 in August. This has been a long battle for him, his family, and all of us! He has had six major surgeries, been through chemo and radiation numerous times, and now he has four tumors again.

One tumor is sitting on his one kidney and bladder. It is 6 inches long and the doctors say they can’t operate on it because M would not make it through the surgery-he would hemorrhage to death. He is having surgery this morning and they are putting in a stint to relieve the pressure from his kidney and bladder. After this, the doctors will decide what to do next.

He applied to a cancer study in Maryland but didn’t qualify-due to him being on chemo numerous times. There is another study in Cincinnati that is more targeted to his specific needs that we hope he qualifies for. The hospital will fed-ex his scans to that hospital today.

He is a very strong young man. He has accomplished so much during his journey fighting this horrible and rare cancer in children. He graduated from High School with honors. He has also completed his first two years in college.

I have a luncheon to attend today and then I am headed to Chattanooga to be with him and the family. I believe in prayer-I believed it helped this time last year when we thought he was going to have his colon removed-he didn’t have to have it removed. Please pray with me for my cousin, M, and his family. Thank you so much!

EDIT: I did not go to Chattanooga today-M’s Mom said it would be better to come on Sunday. They are warn out and he will be coming home tomorrow-which will be another tiring day for him to get settled in and have to deal with the feeding bag. Still waiting for the exact outcome of the surgery and what the future holds.

Posted by Mercedes at Mercedes’ World and only for Mercedes’ World

16 Responses

  1. Please know that your cousin, his family and you are all in my prayers! Hugs to you all.

  2. Praying for your cousin. How sweet of you to go be with them. I have a prayer request up today too.

  3. lifting up your cousin and your family – for blessings today and in the days ahead…

  4. Many prayers are being said over at our place.

  5. Praying for you and yours, God’s peace and strength to you all.

  6. Thank you all for praying for my family at this time! I did not go to Chattanooga today-M’s Mom said it would be better to come on Sunday. They are warn out and he will be coming home tomorrow-which will be another tiring day for him to get settled in and have to deal with the feeding bag. Still waiting for the exact outcome of the surgery and what the future holds.

  7. Mere, I think he is living miracles and I’ll join you again in furvent prayer. Safe journey there and back when you go. Healing hands, healing hands. Love, Debi

    Thank you so much! He is definitely living miracles-just praying for more miracles now!

  8. Mere, I am praying for your cousin and all his family. God bless you all.

  9. he is is my prayers. as are you and your family!

  10. I’m praying for him as well as your family.. Prayers do work wonders…

  11. Boo cancer. I’ve lost so many relatives to different variations of that … hope he gets into the study and that it proves beneficial.

  12. Praying for you, your cousin, and your family. BIG HUGS! Cancer SUCKS. The end.

  13. Mercedes, I am so sorry to hear about your cousin. And he is so young to have cancer, but then that disease knows no age. It is such a dreadful disease and touches so many lives. Sending up a prayer right this minute that God will put His healing hand on M and cause his cancer to go into remission. I pray that God will not take M’s life at this young age but that he will have a lot more years on this earth if it be His will.

    I will continue to remember M and the family in my prayers.

    Love and prayers,
    Betty

  14. Meredith, I am praying too. I am praying for him and I am praying for the entire family to be given strength too.

    (((((Hugs)))))

  15. Praying for you and your family.

  16. […] Prayers Needed Posted on August 16, 2008 by Mercedes Prayer request needed: More prayers needed for M! My cousin, M-20 years old, has been battling renal cell carcinoma for 6 years! He has his […]

Leave a Reply

