Taco Salad

Scrumptious Sunday is hosted by Mercedes at Mercedes Rocks!

Scrumptious Sunday Twelfth Edition: Theme~Mexican~

My aunt used to always make this when we were children.

Her daughter and I continue to make it!

We just get the ingredients and throw it together-not really any measurements

Taco Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 to 1 and1/2 pound of ground beef
  • 1 packet of taco seasoning (I use McCormick’s)

  • 1 16 oz can refried beans (I use Old El Paso)

  • Tortilla Chips (I use Santitas White Corn Tortilla Chips)

More Ingredients (pick and choose)

  • Shredded/chopped lettuce
  • Diced tomatoes
  • Chopped onions
  • Shredded Cheese
  • Jalapeños
  • Sour Cream
  • Guacamole
  • Salsa

Directions

  1. Brown ground beef
  2. Drain excess grease
  3. pour Taco Seasoning packet over ground beef-mix and brown a little more
  4. Add can of refried beans
  5. Add about 1/2 can of water (or more if needed)
  6. Mix and simmer

Assembly

  • Crush tortilla chips on a plate
  • Place portion of taco meat mixture on top
  • Choose your extra toppings and place on top

Be careful: mine usually ends up being a huge plate of taco salad-and then I pop-lol!

R.I.P. Patch

9 Responses

  1. Sounds yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe, Mercedes 🙂

  2. I use a lot of the McCormick’s products! I love them. This is a great recipe!

    How are you doing hun?

  3. Sounds super yummy! I miss good mexican food so I love a good homemade recipe!

  4. LOL. You’re funny. I like the way you did this will all the pictures.

    Beware of McCormick! They used to be an excellent and trusted brand, but they now sneak in undesirable ingredients and chemicals. I even found corn syrup in so-called PURE Vanilla Extract! There is nothing pure about corn syrup. OK, I’m getting off of my soapbox now! 🙂

    I have my post up too. Dessert, of course! I have both a recipe and even a video too.

  5. sounds yummy! umm!

    Might have to try that!

    I’ll tell ya, one of my mom’s favorite quick meals was easy Chic-n-dumplin’s. I’ll post a recipe in a couple of days. My husband’s not a huge fan, but I love em!

  6. I love taco salad. There is a family owned burger place here in town that makes a mean taco salad!

  7. I love Taco Salad and yours sounds so good!

  8. wish to taste a real mexican taco soon. 🙂

  9. Thanks again for participating in Scrumptious Sunday this week! I really enjoyed your recipes and stories and I am so glad you dropped by to visit mine! Hope to see ya next week! 🙂

Leave a comment