Grilled Tilapia With Mango Salsa

Scrumptious Sunday is hosted by Mercedes at Mercedes Rocks.

Scrumptious Sunday Eleventh Edition: Theme~Anything special for Mother’s Day~

Just Like Applebees Low Fat Grilled Tilapia With Mango Salsa

one of my Mom’s favorites

Ingredients:

1 Tilapia Fillet (or other whitefish) grilled
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
salt & pepper, to taste
Mango Salsa
White rice
Vegetable Medley


Mango Salsa
1 cup diced tomatoes
1/2 cup diced red onions
1/2 each diced jalapeno
2 tablespoon chopped cilantro
Salt and pepper to taste
1 teaspoon salad oil
1 teaspoon white vinegar
1/2 teaspoon granulated garlic
1/2 cup chopped mango

Preparation:

Tilapia Fillet:
Spray both sides of the tilapia with Pam Oil Spray.
Shake seasoning (salt, pepper, cayenne pepper) over both sides of the tilapia.
Place tilapia on a clean, lightly oiled grill, smooth side down. Cook to an internal temperature of 145 degrees, turning once during cooking.
Cook rice
Steam fresh vegetable medley (use no butter) season with lemon pepper.

Mango Salsa:
Place all ingredients together in a bowl with the exception of the mango, and mix.
Add the mango and gently mix right before serving.

To serve: Place a portion of white rice on a platter. Place the tilapia on the bed of rice. Pour 2 tablespoons of the mango salsa over the tilapia.
Add the vegetable medley.
Garnish with kale and a fresh lemon wedge.

Happy Mother’s Day! I might not be by to visit as quick as I normally do-depends on how I am feeling. For those participants that know the stories about my 11 year old dalmatian, Patch~he crossed over to the Rainbow Bridge last Friday, May 9, 2008.

R.I.P. Patch

7 Responses

  1. Sounds good!!!
    I’ve been thinking about you. I know your heart is breaking today. 😦

  2. Mango and fish! What a great combination, Mercedes!

  3. I get this dish all the time at Applebees! I love it, and now I can make it myself!

    I hope you are doing ok.

  4. Mango salsa…that sounds yummy!

  5. The recipe sounds yummy.

    Big hugs to you and your family. Patch will be deeply missed. And yes, Mother’s Day includes mommies with fur-babies!

  6. I’m so sorry about Patch, Mercedes. I know how hard it can be to lose our furry friends (I lost a Golden Retriever and a Siamese in the last few years), so I know what you are going through. Our doggies and kitties are people too! May the happy memories bring you back smiles again soon.

    For Scrumptious Sunday: I love tilapia and it’s such a versatile fish. Fish is so healthy too.

  7. I just can’t seem to reply to each comment today, so I am just commenting to all of you here.

    Thanks so much for participating in Scrumptious Sunday this week! I hope everyone had a Happy Mother’s Day! I appreciate you visiting my SS post and I so much appreciate you kind words, thoughts, and prayers for my family and Patch. It means so much.

    Mere

Leave a comment