Ready to Read

So your child has learned his/her letters and sounds, but he/she is having trouble putting them together to sound out words in books. How can you help?

What You Can Do

  • Letters and sounds might seem easy on their own, But an entire page of unfamiliar words can be tough.
  • Start with a three-letter word, such as pet.
  • Write each letter on a separate scrap of paper.
  • Lay the letters in order, a few inches apart.
  • Ask him/her to tell you the sound each letter makes. Note: Be sure he/she is saying the sounds correctly-they should be short and sharp, rather than long and drawn out.
  • Gradually move the letters closer together and ash him/her to say the sounds faster and faster until they run together.
  • By the time the letters touch, they should sound just like pet.
5 Responses

  1. thanks teach…
    my used “hooked on phonics” his sister’s taught it when they were homeschooled.

    He won his school spelling bee (5th grade) this past year.

    Have a great day!

  2. Oh! That is a great idea.

    When I read books to my 5 year old, I point to the words as I read them.

  3. I love this hint good teacher!

  4. My daughter is so close to being able to read! She and I are both getting excited. Today she read the word Mmmm in a story about food. LOL! Thanks for the tips about separating the letters onto scraps of paper.

  5. Thanks for the tip! My daughter is dying to learn how to read and I’ve been trying to help her but I don’t know what I’m doing. I’ll try this and let you know how it works 😀

Leave a Reply

