Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip

Scrumptious Sunday is hosted by Mercedes at Mercedes Rocks.

Come on over and join in on the fun!

Theme: Dairy-National Dairy Month

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip

We always have potlucks of finger foods at school for any occasion. This is the specialty that a teacher assistant always brings-yummy!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 (8-oz) pkg cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 3/4 cup semisweet mini chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

  1. In a small saucepan, melt the butter with the brown sugar over medium heat. Stir continuously, until the brown sugar dissolves.
  2. Remove from heat, whisk in vanilla extract and set aside to cool.
  3. Beat the cream cheese and confectioner’s sugar for 1 minute.
  4. Slowly beat in the cooled butter mixture and beat again for another minute.
  5. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  6. Pour into a serving bowl and refrigerate.
  7. Garnish with additional chocolate chips, if you choose.
  8. Serve with Nilla wafers, graham crackers, Honey Maid-Grahams: honey, cinnamon or chocolate-sticks. My favorite is here:

**Note: after refrigerating the dip it will be pretty solid and un-dippable so make sure to remove it from the refrigerator about 15-30 minutes before you plan on serving it, so it has time to soften up.

What Went With Sweet Tea LAST Sunday

  • Grilled Hamburger Steak wrapped with bacon (recipe she got watching Paula Deen-can’t find it)
  • Sauteed Mushrooms & Onions
  • Garlic roasted potatoes (sliced)
  • Creamed/Fried Fresh Corn
  • Green Beans
  • Baked Beans
  • Slaw none for me-thanks-lol
  • Watergate Salad – I used this recipe last week-how funny that we had it too-lol
  • Paul Newman Cake (see below)

Paul Newman Cake

I don’t know where the name came from-lol

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 box German chocolate cake mix
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 jar Mrs. Richardsons butterscotch caramel topping
  • 1 (12 oz.) container Cool Whip
  • 4 Heath bars, crushed

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Bake cake as directed in 9 x 13 inch pan.
  2. While cake is still hot, poke holes with handle of wooden spoon (all the way to the bottom).
  3. Pour milk over the top and let soak in for a few minutes.
  4. Then pour caramel topping over the cake.
  5. Let cool completely.
  6. Spread Cool Whip over cake and sprinkle crushed Heath bars over Cool Whip.

I have got to start taking my camera with me-I will do that today and they will all think I am loony-that’s alright.

16 Responses

  1. The dip just sounds too good. That’s a great and easy recipe. I would love some. I’ll bet it would make a great cake frosting too.

    I’m laughing out loud about your camera comment. I take my camera everywhere these days too, and I know when some people will or do think I’m loony, but that’s alright too. πŸ™‚

    What is the name of that cake? Is it the Paul Newman from your list? If so, how come “Paul Newman”? I don’t see any of his ingredients. Is it something he is famous for liking or a recipe he published? Well, I sure have a lot of questions today.

  2. OMG this looks truly scrumptious, I can’t wait to try it! OK you guys, you’re not alone, my camera always goes with me too!

    OK I have to ask, Paul Newman Cake?

    That is what she called it and I found a recipe for it-crazy huh!

  3. Yay, I just found my new favorite dip! πŸ™‚ Thank you for that.

    *spritz*

  4. I think I just found heaven! That dip sounds delicious!

  5. Man you guys have some good eats. We will have to try some!

  6. That is one scrumptious recipe! That should put on a few pounds.

    Stop by my blog. I have something for you again. I don’t think you posted the last thing I gave you. Oh well.

  7. my son will love this. to be honest, i’m not a good cook. However i’m hoping that by joining your scrumptious sunday group, I will eventually hone my skill.

  8. btw, i already commented on this sunday’s theme. it’s my very first. not an original though. i hope you don’t mind.

    Welcome to Scrumptious Sunday! I left you a comment on your post but it is in moderation-need to fish me out of spam-lol!

  9. Hi, Mercedes. Thank you for the information you left on my blog. I was really wondering. I hope you had a great Sunday and I’m looking forward to your next Scrumptious Sunday post so I can find out what you all ate. πŸ™‚ This is a fun meme with some good, friendly folks participating.

  10. im a chocoholic, i love it!!!!!!

  11. TAG!!!! You are it again πŸ™‚

    I tagged you with a fun meme! Come play along if you like πŸ™‚

    http://shaycv.blogspot.com/2008/06/tag-youre-it.html

  12. gotta, gotta, gotta try that c.chip cookie dough dip. sound absolutely WONDERFUL…..

  13. Oh my word!!! That dip sounds wonderful. So does Paul’s cake. πŸ˜‰

  14. That looks soooo delicious!

Leave a Reply

