Bet You Can’t Own Just One

BET YOU CAN’T OWN JUST ONE!

Why own a Dalmatian? There’s danger you know,
You can’t own just one, for the craving will grow.
There’s no doubt they’re addictive, wherein lies the danger.
While living with spots, You’ll grow poorer and stranger!

One Dal is no trouble, and two are so funny,
the third one is easy, the fourth is a honey!
The fifth one delightful, the sixth one’s a breeze.
You find you can live with a houseful with ease.

So how ’bout another? Would you really dare?
They’re really quite easy, BUT oh Lord the hair!
With Dals on the sofa and Dals on the bed,
and crates in the kitchen, it’s no bother you’ve said.

They’re really no trouble, their manners are great.
What’s just one more Dal and just one more crate?
The sofa is hairy, the windows are crusty,
the floor is all footprints, the furniture dusty.

The housekeeping suffers, but what do you care?
Who minds a few nose prints and a little more hair?
So let’s keep a puppy, you can always find room.
And a little more time for the dust cloth and broom!

There’s hardly a limit to the Dals you can add,
the thought of a cutback sure makes you sad.
Each one is so special, so useful, so funny.
The food bill grows larger, the vet you owe money!

Your folks never visit, few friends come to stay,
except other Dal folks who live the same way!
Your lawn has now died, and your shrubs are dead too,
but your weekends are busy, you’re off with your crew.

Is it worth it, you wonder? Are you caught in a trap?
Then that favorite Dal comes and climbs in your lap.
His look says “You’re special” and you know that you will
keep ALL of the Dals in spite of the bill!!!

Author: Sue MacMillan

R.I.P. Patch

10 Responses

  1. Are you thinking about getting another dal? That’s a beeautiful poem!

  2. Such a cute dog pile! This poem also applies to vizslas. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    You know it! I am ordering a urn for Patch’s ashes and I have four lines on the nameplate I can have engraved. First Line: Patch Fourth Line: January 1, 1997 – May 9, 2008. Any ideas for the second and third lines??? Or maybe I just want 2 lines or 3 lines??? I have 2nd-Forever In Our Hearts~3rd-Until We Meet Again…

  3. You probably don’t have much room on the nameplate, but that “Rainbow Bridge” poem always gets me sniffly, especially the “so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart” part. Your 2nd and 3rd lines kind of go in that direction — a “Gone, but not from our hearts” and “Until the next game of fetch” kind of thing.

    The downside is I would get sniffly again every time I looked at the nameplate, but that happens anyway with Pooh Bear’s box and it just has her name on it.

  4. Enjoyed the poem and glad you have Patch’s ashes. I could own 20 chihuahuas. I love them so.

  5. Great poem! I could easily have a zillion labs. But for now I’ll settle for my 3! (Ok, Murphy is a husky but he doesn’t know it shhh…)

  6. I went with:

    Patch
    Forever In Our Hearts
    January 1, 1997 – May 9, 2008

    It is ready to go and will be shipped tomorrow. It will be much nicer than the plain white box we have now. It is a maple box with a figurine of a dalmatian laying down on top. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. It sounds like a very nice memorial. Will you post a picture when it comes in?

    Thanks! Yes I will! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I love the poem.

    The urn sounds beautiful and I like the words you chose for it. I’d like to see a picture too.

    God bless you’!
    Sharon (& Rusty)

    Thank you! I will post a pic of it and I will take a pic of the one I receive soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. That is beautiful Mere. I think it is great that you have his ashes and the words you chose for the engraving are perfect.

  10. what a beautiful poem. and i think the same applies to german pointers, same kinda breed, characteristics, temperament… if if weren’t for hubby, i think there would be many many more in my home….

Leave a Reply

