Frozen Peanut Butter Pie

Hosted by ME at Mercedes Rocks!

Scrumptious Sunday Tenth Edition: Theme~Pies

Ingredients

1 2/3 cups chocolate graham cracker crumbs (about 8 1/2 cookie sheets)
7 tablespoons sugar, divided
2 large egg whites, lightly beaten
Cooking spray
1 1/4 cups fat-free milk
2/3 cup reduced-fat crunchy peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup (4 ounces) fat-free cream cheese, softened
1 (8-ounce) container frozen fat-free whipped topping, thawed
3 tablespoons finely chopped salted, dry-roasted peanuts
1/4 cup shaved milk chocolate (about 1 ounce)


Preparation


Preheat oven to 350 degrees

1. Combine crumbs, 3 tablespoons sugar, and egg whites; toss with a fork until moist. Lightly coat hands with cooking spray and press crumbs into bottom and up sides of a 9-inch deep-dish pie plate coated with cooking spray. Prick crust with a fork before baking. Bake at 350° for 10 minutes. Remove from oven; cool on a wire rack.

2. Combine milk and remaining 1/4 cup sugar in a heavy saucepan over medium-low heat. Cook 2 minutes or until sugar dissolves, stirring constantly; transfer mixture to a bowl. Add peanut butter and vanilla, stirring with a whisk until combined. Cover and chill 30 minutes.

3. Place cream cheese in a large bowl, and beat with a mixer at medium speed until light and fluffy. Add milk mixture, beating on low speed until combined. Fold in whipped topping; pour mixture into prepared pie crust. Filling may be thin after mixing but will harden in the freezer.

4. Freeze, uncovered, 8 hours or overnight or until hard. Sprinkle with peanuts and shaved chocolate. Transfer pie to refrigerator 30 minutes before slicing.

Yield: 10 servings (serving size: 1 wedge)

And for your viewing and listening pleasure…

Peanut Butter Jelly Time

Buckwheat Boys

It’s peanut butter jelly time, peanut butter jelly time, peanut butter jelly time
(Chorus)
Where he at 4x
There he go 4x
Peanut butter jelly 4x
Do the peanut butter jelly, peanut butter jelly,
Peanut butter jelly with a baseball bat 2x
(Chorus)
Now, break it down and freeze 4x
(Chorus)
Now tic tac toe (uh-huh)
Tic tac toe (let’s go)
Tic tac toe (you got it)
Tic tac toe (let’s ride)
(Chorus)
Now, freestyle, freestyle, freestyle, freestyle, freestyle, your style 2x
Where he at 4x
There he go 4x

Memes: If you like to play, I am hosting Scrumptious Sunday & Hump Day Humor at my other site: Mercedes Rocks. Come on over and check it out! I would love to have you participate! Thanks!

15 Responses

  1. I love the PBJ Time song! LOL Thanks for posting it Mercedes.

    Also, that recipe sounds really yummy!

    Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks! Your strawberry rhubarb pie sounds delicious!

  2. I’m going to have to try this receipe! I’m a terrible cook, but I love desserts!

    The PBJ song can also be seen on Family guy. Brian the Dog dresses up like a banana! It’s hilarious!

    It is delicious! Yeah~the Family Guy is the first scene in this video! That would be the only thing I like about that show (sorry) lol!

  3. YUM x 10! That was a cute song! I’m going to get mine up later today.

    LOL X 10! Glad you like both! Can’t wait to see what you have!

  4. I love peanut butter! I can’t wait to try yours! Mine is for an awesome pineapple cream! 🙂 http://www.3sidesofcrazy.com/2008/04/scrumptious-sunday-pies-pineapple-cream.html

    Thanks! Oooooohhhhh~your pineapple cream pie sounds delightful! Thanks for playing and for stopping by! You Rock!

  5. I have too many blogs! LOL Trying to decide which one I want to use as my main blog…so far I like Shannon’s Introspections

    LOL! I tend to stay here most of the time!

  6. I just licked my monitor to taste your pie LOL

    Splorf! That is hilarious! So how was it? Did you enjoy it? LOL Thanks for coming over and thanks for participating again with us this week! I enjoyed your Pecan Pie recipe with molasses! Yummy!

  7. Well, I see everyone is up and at it early today!
    All that peanut butter goodness and low fat too! What’s not to like! I can’t wait to try it.

    Loved the video, that was too cute.

    We all started Friday night and yesterday-hehe! This pie is delicious! Thanks! And I thought I should add a video for the theme voices~NaBloPoMo-hehe!

  8. Actually I should have sent the above comment from

    http://hustlehag.blogspot.com

    Sharon 🙂

    Thanks for joining us again this week! Rusty looks great~definitely the next America’s Top Dog Idol! Buttermilk Pie~sounds great too!

  9. My hubby would love this. Mine is here this week=

    http://sunflowersinthekitchen.blogspot.com/

    I was wondering who this was-hehe! I figured it out! I love your Sunflowers in the Kitchen Blog! I love sunflowers and I love food~woohoo! Glad you liked this recipe! I love your Abracadaquiri Pie Recipe~I so love the name of it and I love strawberries! Thanks for stopping by!

  10. Great pie. I haven’t made anything like that before, but I’ll have to try this one. I don’t like Cool Whip, but I’ll substitute with real whipped cream. And no baking either! Real bonus in the summer time here in Southern California where we hit triple digits!

    Thanks! I am so not looking forward to hitting triple digits here~especially with 100% humidity-lol!

  11. OMG, can this much sinful deliciousness be LEGAL???? *faint*

    Splorf! LOL!

  12. OMG. My kids make me crazy with that song! 😀 The pie sounds to die for. Thanks for sharing.

    Scattered, Smothered & Covered in Chocolate: http://anapronaday.blogspot.com/search/label/fondue

    LOL! Thank you and you’re welcome! I love your vintage fondue pot post-beautiful pictures!Thanks for stopping by!

  13. hi mercedes, that sure tastes delicious. i love peanut butter! you asked me about the coconut meat – yes it is the same as the one you use for coconut cream pie.

    Thanks~I love peanut butter too! Thanks for the heads up on coconut meat! So glad you are participating with us there at Scrumptious Sunday and Hump Day Humor!

  14. That pie looks awesome! I have a BIG sweet tooth! lol I think I’d make it with non-fat free stuff. hee hee 😀

  15. […] Peanut Butter Pie […]

Leave a Reply

