Loaded Potato Soup

Hosted by Mercedes at Mercedes Rocks

Theme: Soup

O’CHARLEY’S LOADED POTATO SOUP

INGREDIENTS

3 pounds red potatoes
1/4 cup margarine, melted
1/4 cup flour
8 cups half-and-half
1 (16 ounce) block Velveeta cheese, melted
White pepper, to taste
Garlic powder, to taste
1 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
1/2 pound bacon, fried crisply
1 cup Cheddar cheese, shredded
1/2 cup fresh chives, chopped

DIRECTIONS

Dice unpeeled red potatoes into 1/2-inch cubes. Place in a large sauce pan, cover with water and bring to a boil. Let boil for 10 minutes or until 3/4 cooked.

In a separate large sauce pan, combine melted margarine and flour, mixing until smooth. Place over low heat and gradually add half-and-half, stirring constantly. Continue to stir until smooth and liquid begins to thicken.

Add melted Velveeta. Stir well. Drain potatoes and add to cream mixture. Stir in pepper, garlic powder and hot pepper sauce. Cover and cook over low heat for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Place soup into individual serving bowls and top with crumbled bacon, shredded cheese, and chives. I also garnish mine with sour cream.

Makes 8 servings

COMFORT FOOD WITH MY BOYFRIEND’S PARENTS

I am going to start posting what we had for Sunday Dinner the previous Sunday (much easier for me to do and I don’t have to worry about forgetting to post it-lol).


  • Grilled Pork Chops
  • Grilled Pork Chops (in aluminum foil with Worcestershire sauce, onions, and pineapples)
  • Potatoes (casserole type with cheese and ranch dressing mix)
  • Creamed Corn
  • Green Beans
  • Baked Beans
  • Boiled okra (yuck-hehe-She isn’t frying as much anymore-Jedd’s Dad and SIL are on diets)
  • Sweet Tea, SunDrop, & Water
  • Chocolate cake with chocolate frosting-store bought-Birthday for Jedd’s Dad’s Birthday )
Join the hostess and more participants by clicking icon below!
space
6811292241_1000371.gif

Blog of the Week: Please visit my Spotlight Blog of the Week. You might be the Blog of the Week one week! )

10 Responses

  1. YUM! to both the soup and the sunday dinner. Is there anything Velveeta can’t make taste good?

    I keep meaning to join in on the Scrumptious Sundays but just hasn’t worked out.

    Aaaaahhhhh~the wonders of cheese-lol! I comletely understand! I am soooo behind on my blogging and returning visits here-hope to catch up soon! So good to hear from you!

  2. Loaded Potato Soup sounds yummy! Great minds think alike!

    Thank you! Isn’t that the truth~we both must love peanut butter AND potatoes-lol!

  3. Oh dear, we can’t get red potatoes here.
    Does the taste differ from normal potatoes? Or does it resemble something else?

    I’m going to try this one, it sounds yummy. Thanks!

    You can find my entry at my site.

    Have a great week!

    Folkwoman answered your question below about the red potatoes. I really enjoyed your walk down memory lane in your grandmother’s kitchen. She sounds like a wonderful cook! I can feel your love for her and the warmth of her kitchen in your posts!

  4. OMG! Looks delicious! I LOVE potato soup! Especially with all the loaded stuff… bacon, cheese, onion etc!

    For your daily dose of vintage goodness & a bit of silliness, stop by Confessions of an Apron Queen, the home of Vintage Thingies Thursdays.

    I really enjoyed your post about Dad Barley’s chili recipe. You included a wonderful history with great pics too! Your apron is too cool too! Thanks so much for participating.

  5. Hey, we had grilled pork chops tonight too! mmm good!

    So did Gina! Cool!

  6. to Laane-
    Red potatoes are creamier than baking (Idaho) or white potatoes. The texture is slightly less dry.

    Thanks for the info!

  7. Oh, duh, this is what you had last week! oh well. you can see how well I read stuff now.

    ROFL! It’s ok! I’m right there with ya on the reading part-lol!

  8. YUM!

    I believe I will go to O’Charley’s soon to get me a cup of this-lol!

  9. Yummy!! I was not able to post a recipe in time (too busy watching basketball) 🙂
    I did get my SS up though.

    Thank you! I was watching the game with ya! I enjoyed the walk down memory lane with your grandmother! Your dinner was similar to my dinner the previous week-cool!

  10. This sounds soooooooooooooooo yummy!


    Thank you! Your chicken noodle soup is needed at our house right now. I have a sick boyfriend and a sick dog. Ya think my dog could benefit from it too? Hehe!

Leave a Reply

