The Left-Handed Whopper

flip1.gif

This meme is hosted by Skittles at Heads or Tails
This week’s theme/prompt is: HEADS
Fool

Top 100 April FOOL’S Day Hoaxes

# 8 The Left-Handed Whopper

whopper.jpg

In 1998 Burger King published a full page advertisement in USA Today announcing the introduction of a new item to their menu: a “Left-Handed Whopper” specially designed for the 32 million left-handed Americans. According to the advertisement, the new whopper included the same ingredients as the original Whopper (lettuce, tomato, hamburger patty, etc.), but all the condiments were rotated 180 degrees for the benefit of their left-handed customers. The following day Burger King issued a follow-up release revealing that although the Left-Handed Whopper was a hoax, thousands of customers had gone into restaurants to request the new sandwich. Simultaneously, according to the press release, “many others requested their own ‘right handed’ version.” Source: Museum of Hoaxes. BTW- I am a lefty! Woohoo!

Find the hostess, rules, and more participants by clicking icon below!

button3.gif

Memes: If you like to play, I am hosting two new memes (Scrumptious Sunday & Hump Day Humor) at my other site: Mercedes Rocks. These have finally been added to The Daily Meme! Woohoo! Please come on over and check it out! I would love to have you participate! Thanks!

Blog of the Week: Please visit my Spotlight Blog of the Week. You might be the Blog of the Week one week! )

red-signature.png

13 Responses

  1. Good one amazing so many people fall for this.

    Isn’t it though? Crazy people-lol!

  2. Ahahahahaha – I love it.

    But here’s the deal – I’m left handed (honest) AND my favorite sandwich/treat is a Whopper (no onions please). So this post really caught my attention! hehe

    Have a fantastic Tuesday.

    I am a lefty too and I love Whoppers minus onions & ketchup! Your April Fool’s story is too funny!

  3. Oh that’s FUNNY!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    You’re welcome! You are a hoot! Pregnant-lol-good one! Happy April Fool’s Day!

  4. I never heard that hoax before, but it is funny. Are you sure McDonalds would do that?

    Merecedes I tagged you for a quick fun tag. I hope you can play. It’s over at my Empty Nest site.

    LOL! I can’t seem to leave you a comment at The Empty Nest-but I will participate soon.

  5. Oh, that’s so funny – never heard that!

    I enjoyed your writing and photography and I have learned what a fib is. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. What a great ploy for the consumers….let’s give a ‘hand’ to Burger King.

    Hi Mercedes…Yes, I always put a bogus email. [if you need some help or something, I’m here for you. —I’ll try and come back to find your email link and send you an email so you can get my addy for future reference…but today I’m gonna be very busy,……..I’ll get back to you asap.]

    My April FOOL is posted. We’re celebrating her 39th birthday today. Come on over if you can find some free time! Have a piece of cake, and enjoy the good story behind it all!!!

    Thanks for coming over! Your story about your daughter’s birth is wonderful! Gave me goose bumps! Happy Birthday to her! Your Dad sounds like a wonderful man!

  7. I LOVED this. Perfect for April Fool’s Day. Thanks for giving me flowers! Hehe I loved it!

    Glad you like it and I am so glad you liked the flowers! The Flowers are going to be my Wordless Wednesday Post too.

  8. Love it! There was also a story about a South African coffee bar chain launching a left-handed cappuccino today (April 1). 🙂
    Carole from http://www.thelefthandedsite.com

    Thanks for stopping by! I LOVE your site! I will be back!

  9. Haha, that’s great! A corporation with a sense of humor, I like it!

    Happy HoT!! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by! I enjoyed your Fool/Loser post/picture-ROFL!

  10. Wow again. And I thought I was gullible. Happy Tuesday! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by! I enjoyed your poem and music! And you are NOT gullible!

  11. HA HA HA HA!
    That is great, what a prank!

    Hope you have a great week!

    Your WWE post was hilarious! Thanks for stopping by!

  12. I saw that yesterday when searching for something to do my HorT on…it cracked me up and I almost used it! Today I went to lunch and ordered a left handed Whopper, but the kids just acted like I ordered something normal, so it wasn’t a fun joke.

    ROFL! I enjoyed your fool quotes and the Norman Rockwell pic~still finding the tricks in it-hehe!

  13. LOL…I can’t believe people fell for that…that’s hilarious!

    Thanks for stopping by! Your daughter is an artist!

Leave a Reply

