The Price of Vet Visits

elegant-sign.gif

Thursday Thirteen #4

The Price of Vet Visits since 12-03-07

(One or two visits and receipts are misplaced at the moment)

  1. December 3, 2007: $38.00
  2. December 6, 2007: $45.50
  3. December 10, 2007: $289.50
  4. December 17, 2007: $180.00
  5. January 2, 2008: $32.00
  6. January 25, 2008: $6.00
  7. January 31, 2008: $42.00
  8. February, 8, 2008: $156.00
  9. February 19, 2008: $28.00
  10. March 8, 2008: $57.00
  11. March 13, 2008: $41.94
  12. March 18, 2008: $74.29
  13. The total cost of Vet visits: $990.23

The price of a dog’s unconditional love: PRICELESS!

patch-howls.jpg

Patch is my 11 year old dalmatian that has had numerous health problems in the last few months. He was incorrectly diagnosed with lymphoma. We switched Vets and found out through correct diagnosis (biopsy of a lymph node) that he doesn’t have lymphoma. Feel free to visit my Dogs Page to read Patch’s stories during this crazy roller coaster ride we have been on!

The point of this post isn’t really the money. It is the PRICELESS part!

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun! Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

If you like to play memes, I am hosting two new memes (Scrumptious Sunday & Hump Day Humor) at my other site: Mercedes Rocks. Please come on over and check it out! I would love to have you participate! Thanks!

space

Reminder: If you belong to one of the following blogrolls, I have something for you: Yummy Blog Award. Blogrolls: A1 Dogs & 2 Cats, Blog Buddies, Blog Meme Peeps, Blog Party Peeps, and Bloggers = Fun!

space

more about memes

nablopomo-pink-words.gif

23 Responses

  1. It looks like you got off relatively cheaply a friend of mine just paid over $1000 for her dog to have surgery, my husband would FREAK lol
    Happy Thursday.

    Thanks for stopping by! Money doesn’t matter when it comes to Patch! I just wish we could figure out what is going on already!

  2. Well, I can tell you love the dog.

    Thanks for stopping by! Yes I do! He is my world!

  3. You got a great deal (I know you don’t want to hear that) but seriously – that’s cheap for all the testing you had done!

    Hope patch is doing well!!!!

    Hey chicadee! Remember~what tests were actually done at the Old Doc? LOL! Patch isn’t doing to good right now! He has been on an antibiotic for 3 weeks and was just taken off yesterday. He is on Cipro for 10 days and back to the antibiotic for 1 more week! He has been just blah! He is do for his annual shots in April, so we are going to have dental care work done too (cleaning). He has to be sedated to do this. New Doc thinks that might be some of his troubles-after we suggested that we were thinking that! His sores are coming back too! In his ears and on his legs-aaaaahhhhhh! He had a high temp too yesterday! He is on a new weight management food now and he lost 1 pound last week-woohoo! Thank goodness he loves the new food and I have decided to use the food for treats as well (instead of fattening doggy bones)-he just wants something tossed at him anyway! The food is way pricey to what we were used to paying! 20 pound bag is $33. Thanks for stopping by! WOOF!

  4. Arg. How awful. I am so so sorry. We switched vets to find out our puppy has nasel mites. EW – bugs in her nose. And that there’s a great shot for arthritis. Do you have vet insurance? We’ve found it to be… erm… priceless? 😉

    Got to love them!

    Thanks for coming over! We were thinking ear mites and/or nasal mites! I am gonna ask New Doc to actually test for both of these in April! I have read that you have to do a scraping and actually look under the microscope! No~no Vet insurance! I felt it was too late in the game to invest now! I love it: erm…priceless! I love your blog! Awesome place! Your TT was so inspirational!

  5. I’m so sorry your dog has been ill. We had to put my dog to sleep over the weekend. I would pay a lot of vet bills to havve him back!

    Bless your heart! I feel for you! What was wrong? Thanks for stoping by!

  6. nothing like that kind of love!

    Thank you! I loved your list of phobias! I have 3 out of the 10! Thanks for coming over!

  7. I’ve spent way more than that on my children’s teeth and my own psyche…and dogs give me WAY more than either!

    LOL! My mouth is worth a fortune-haha! I loved your list of why a Mature Mommy Reads Non-Mommy Blogs!

  8. Wow, did you ever think of becoming a vet.

    No~not for me-lol! I really enjoyed your list and pics of colorful veggies! Too Cool! Come on back anytime!

  9. That reminds me, I need to call Dr. Franklin and figure out how how much I owe him for Miss Beverly Sills’ surgery and boarding. Oye -!

    SJR
    The Pink Flamingo

    LOL! Thanks for dropping by!

  10. Hmm, 13 more reasons why I won’t be getting a dog (smile). My husband and son still insist on trying to convince me otherwise. And I must admit yours is a cutie pie and I’m sure worth every penny you spent on him.

    LOL! Thank You! I enjoyed virtual jammin’ to Prince at your place! Brought back memories! Thanks for poppin’ in!

  11. What a great Thursday 13–a lot of money but money well spent!

    Thanks! Priceless is all I have to say-lol!

  12. I just spent $110 on a stray dog we’ve been taking care of for the last 6 weeks. I thought, “How stupid is it to spend this kind of money on an animal that is not even mine!” but you just can’t let the little guys suffer!

    Happy TT!

    Good for you! They are such innocent creatures that didn’t ask to be brought up in this world-and especially be neglected! I loved your list of place you frequent on the web. I need to catch up at some of my other locations! Thanks for coming over!

  13. OK. I’m going to do this meme! Check it out on http://bloggingiszen.blogspot.com. I’m really bad at coming up with original lists sometimes. But here goes! 😀

    Cool! Don’t forget when you do these memes to visit the main site and leave a link there too! I couldn’t find yours yet??

  14. Your dog would break my budget. Happy TT>

    LOL! It’s not about a budget~It’s about a “child” or living creature that I took in to raise no matter what the circumstances are! Thanks for visiting!

  15. I can tell by your posts that Patch is worth it.
    Thanks for your nice comments.

    He sure is! You’re welcome! I love your site! It is full of ideas of things to do with children! I will be coming back!

  16. So glad to hear it wasn’t lymphoma! What a pretty dog!

    Thank you! Your list of things that drive you babanas is hilarious and too true!

  17. Hey, I’m with the whole world…those who say “Pets are part of the family”…..yes indeed. No matter the cost, they’re just like a child or a soulmate. I love how you ended with “unconditional love – priceless!!!” You are so right on.

    Thanks for the sweet comment on your Thursday Threesome too.

    Thank you! You’re welcome! I really love your blog and you have definitely left a great impression on me!

  18. I’m sorry to hear that Patch is having some reoccuring symptoms. 😦 I hope he comes around quickly and they can find some answers for you.

    I know it’s frustrating! Hang in there, you’ve been such a trooper.

    Thanks so much, Darla! Your kind words mean so much to me! LYMI!

  19. I know my dog went through some back problems and we spent sooooo much on her vet visits. But they are like your family and if someone in your family was sick it wouldn’t matter what the cost was to help them get better.

    (Btw, I finally added you to the Blogaholics Anonymous Club- sorry it took so long. I haven’t had much time to spend going through my list of people to add- but you’re on there now, so welcome to the club!!)

    You said it! Woohoo~thanks for adding me~I’m so excited!

  20. A friend of mine took out health insurance for her dog. It is blamed expensive BUT as you said priceless. You can’t put a dollar value on your precious pet or loved ones.
    I am praying that it will get better for you, I know you worry and hurt about Patch.
    Hugs

    Thanks so much, Angie! I really appreciate your support during this! It seems like we are back to square one and starting all over. He isn’t doing well right now and we don’t know what to do. Aaaaahhhhh!

  21. You have to be a pet owner to understand the depth of how priceless the love, devotion, and money spent can be for a devoted pet. The bond between man and animal creates the sense of wanting well-being, and love is the glue. Keep walking towards the sunshine Patch!

    You said it! I love how you use words: priceless!

  22. Priceless is key! How well I know that “gulp!!” that you feel each time at the vet, when they hand you the bill. But our fourfooted friends are worth every penny.

    btw, what you’re talking about here, another example of barklove. Come and see what I mean. Your one of the folks I posted this for.

    WOW! We were commenting on each other’s blog at the same time! I saw your post at Gina’s and came right over! You are so right that our furry four-footed friends are worth it! Thanks so much for your post! I love it!

  23. I’m sorry your baby is sick. I agree “things” come and go but unconditonal love is…….priceless. We have two dogs that we get a ton of love from….a 19 year old Black Lab/Cocker Spaniel mix and a 5 year old Cocker Spaniel.

    P.S. I found your blog through The Empty Nest blog.

    WOW~19 years old-amazing! The Empty Nest is cool! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

