NaBloPoMo

nablo0308_120x90.jpg

Accountable: I was about to reply to your comment and pose this question to you, but I thought I would turn it into a post instead.

Last November, I wanted to participate in NaBloPoMo: National Blog Posting Month, but I didn’t. This year they are having NaBloPoMo for every month~to give more bloggers an opportunity to participate. I know a few of my blog buddies participated in November. I am just wanting to know how it works exactly. My curious mind has all of these questions about the whole process. Do I just post on my personal blog? Or do I have to post here and on my NaBloPoMo Page? Is it important to build my network at NaBloPoMo? There will be themes for each month, but you don’t have to post by the theme. The theme for March is: Lists. Does anyone have any ideas for me on posting about Lists? Topics or Suggestions for Lists?

person-making-a-list.jpg

I am really just looking for feedback about how the process of NaBloPoMo works and any suggestions for Lists Topics. Hope to hear from you! Thanks!

10 Responses

  1. It was a good experience. The posts don’t have to be any certain length (which really surprised me) It could be a post that just said, “Here’s my post for the day!”

    I did see that they are doing it every month, I’ll try to get in one month before the official November. November is hard becasue we go away for Thanksgiving and it’s just a matter of finding the time to post on the weekends and on the holidays.

    You post on your own personal blog. you can link to your NaBloPoMo profile )I do) with RSS feed or whatever). I have a few friends at NaBloPoMo so I’ve linked to them. You’ll find some interesting profiles and you can add them if you wish.

    It just so happens (and it is all just a coinkydink) that I am posting my playlists from tapes that I made. hee hee 😀

    I hope this answers any questions you have or if it just made more questions. Feel free to regular email me if you desire!

    Thanks so much for the info! Yeah~you should participate and continue with your music lists (don’t do any more until March-lol).

  2. I know what you mean (it”s not real clear). I spent an hour looking up stuff about it because I wanted to do it too. I post almost every day anyway. I do know that any blog you post to counts–I found this out because someone asked the same exact question and the moderator answered it. I wanted some examples of lists too but couldn’t seem to find anyone’s blog with lists on them.

    Thanks for your input. So are you gonna join up? I created an account, sent the email and got a reply back. I hope I am good to go. The theme is “lists”, but you don’t have to follow the theme. A lot of your posts are lists anyway-correct?

  3. Mercedes, my friend at infinitygoods.wordpress.com did a NaBloPoMo and a NaNoPoMo (?) last November.

    NaNoPoMo (I think that’s what it is called) requires that you write a 50,000 word novel in 1 month.

    I will have her come by your site and give you some pointers.

    Thank You! Uh, no-I won’t be writing a 50,000 word novel, that’s for sure-lol! Looking forward to her visit!

  4. Hello Mercedes, 4urpets sent me to answer a few questions. NoBloPoMo is really easy. You sign up first, then during November (originally), you post at least once a day, everyday for the entire month. At the end of the month, you get a blog button for all your trouble. You can post about anything you want and it can be as short or as long as you want. It’s all on the honor system as anyone could grab a button from the website. Or anyone could make their own button (as is even encouraged, but only for winners of course). She also has a few prizes. At the end of the month, she picks winners. Before awarding them anything, she makes sure they have at least one post for each day. I didn’t win anything other than the right to brag with a button on my blog. There are also many forums on her blog which you may participate in, but it is completely optional.

    It was a great experience as I was still a new blogger and did not yet realize how great it is to post daily. I plan to participate again, but I’m relieved to see that she is doing it year round now. During November I also participated in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) where as 4urpets said, you must write the rough draft of a 50,000 word novel in one month. So I was doing both and it was a challenge to say the least especially with life, family and Thanksgiving “playing interference” as I wrote in one of my posts. It was great though and a fantastic feeling of accomplishment at the end of the month since I won both challenges.
    For lists, you might want to join in at Thursday Thirteen (.com). Every Thursday you make a list of 13 things. It can be anything you want, but the more creative you are the more you will get noticed and people will come back to your blog. You can see samples on their site, or you can come to my blog and see samples of all three (NaBlo, NaNo, and T13.)
    Have fun and enjoy the challenge. 🙂

    Cool! Thank you so much for your input. I have always wondered what Thursday Thirteen was. I thought about creating my own days for lists, such as Scrumptious Southern Sunday: We go to eat at my boyfriend’s parents’ house every Sunday and his Mom always cooks up a Southern Spread. I will be over soon to check out your site. So, did you ever publish your novel that you wrote? Kudos to you for doing all of this at once~and during the Holidays too~Woohoo! Aaahhhh, you are unlinkable (link by your pic doesn’t take me to your site) lol. Going to 4urpets to find you-hehe!

  5. Hey girlie
    Yes, I did NaBloPoMo back in November and it was fun. I think I did it sort of wrong-ish but I did sign up with the site and then just posted on my own blog…I haven’t been back to the NaBloPoMo site.

    I confess I am a little weirded out about the fact that I didn’t have any trouble finding things to post about for the month. Ack…what the heck does that say about ME? Well, probably just that I like to talk a lot (or something to that effect.)

    All in all it was a great exercise. I had a good time doing it and I’d do it again…just not right now. I have a lot on my plate right now and am just trying to keep up with READING friend’s blogs…let alone write posts every day.

    Ah well….I hope you do it!! I’ll come back as often as I can in March and see how you are doing…go for it!

    Hey Mrs! Thanks for stopping by and giving me your input! I appreciate it! Please, stop by anytime~when you have time. Also~I added you as a friend on NaBloPoMo, maybe I will see you there soon. WOOF!

  6. Look me up on the ning site!

    Gotcha! Sent an invite! Woohoo!

  7. I’m a NaBloPoMo member, too. I linked to my Shades of Pink blog. It is easiest for me to post daily on that one. I’m also doing Blog 365, but I’ve already fallen off the wagon for that one. Everyone here seems to have summed up NaBloPoMo nicely. You can choose to blog on your personal site or on the blog provided on your ning site. Look me up on there. My blogs have links to my pages.

    I just sent you a request on the ning site-LOL! Great minds think alike! Too Cool! Woohoo!

  8. Thanks for the info about my link not working on the March NaBloPoMo page not working. I went and hit my “Gin’as Public Diary” link and nothing happened–well it said server not found. How on earth did you know the .com was left out??? Girl you rock! Thanks.

    I studied your link and you had everything there except the dot before the com-lol. I just wish my blog was on the blogroll so I know I am actually doing this-hehe. Looking forward to doing NaBloPoMo with you in March! Woohoo!

  9. Woohoo! I am finally on the March blogroll! For all of my buddies that are participating~make sure you are on the blogroll and that your link works. I guess you should do this~I had to make sure for myself! Gina~hope you get your link fixed soon! Looking forward to participating with you guys!

  10. Hi! Mom said this looks like a lot of fun! She didn’t know about this untill she read your post. I think she is going to do it on her own blog. i don’t want her to bother me! Her’s is:
    http://hustlehag.blogspot.com

    She’s going to go sign up for March now!

    Woohoo! Go Sharon! Looking forward to you joining us. It is a tad bit complicated to sign up~not really, but it took me a few emails to make sure I got on the March Blogroll. Go ahead and add me and my other friends (if they don’t care) to your NaBloPoMo Page. I am under Mercedes. Do you care if I add this blog to my blogroll? I’m so excited. Hope Rusty isn’t jealous-lol! WOOF!

Leave a Reply

