A Faithful Dog

       

faithful-dog.jpg    

A FAITHFUL DOG

ANONYMOUS

 

A Faithful Dog Will Play With You

And Laugh With You -Or Cry-

He’ll Gladly Starve To Stay With You

Nor Ever Reason Why,

And When You’re Feeling Out Of Sorts

Somehow He’ll Understand

He’ll Watch You With His Shining Eyes

And Try To Lick Your Hand.

His Blind, Implicit Faith In You

Is Matched By His Great Love –

The Kind That All Of Us Should Have

In The Master, Up Above.

When Everything Is Said And Done

I Guess This Isn’t Odd

For When You Spell “Dog” Backwards

You Get The Name Of God.

This poem is dedicated to ALL dog lovers!

   

4 Responses

  1. Mer,

    Take one day at a time. When my childhood dog died years ago we buried his ashes in a beautiful garden. You’ll know what to do. Enjoy Patch now, and the rest will come later.

    God bless,
    pppj

    Thanks pppj. I have decided to have him cremated. Curious also gave me another idea~Thanks Curious. I will cremate him with one of his babies and save their ashes in an urn. I rent my house…so I don’t have property of my own to bury him on.

  2. What a beautiful poem.

    It is such a beautiful poem.

  3. Oh Meredith, I am so sorry! I do not own a pet at present although there were always dogs around the house when I was growing up. I think pppj is right on the mark. Take one day at a time and appreciate all the devotion and faithfulness he is giving you right this moment. Keep connected, let others who know you and your sweet Patch, help you through this difficult time.

    Thank you teresa. Patch seems to be doing fine now. He has been walking/running us instead of us walking him. That is a good sign. The only thing we worry about is the lymph nodes enlarging and his weight loss.

    Thanks for stopping by!
    WOOF!

  4. its tough – i know! there is no easy way to get over the loss of a beloved and loyal friend. what helped me accept my dog’s death for those first few days was simply that he was no longer suffering. i had him euthanized as soon as i saw that he was not getting better, that living was becoming unbearable for him. eventually, maybe two months later, i started to think of him warmly, without the pain of loss. he gave me so much tenderness and everyday he would make me laugh… i am beginning to appreciate those moments. i can look at his pictures now and smile. but i still cry sometimes too.
    hopefully your dog will get better. when the time comes, console yourself with the fact that euthansia is a quick procedure. the vet administers a tranquillizer first and waits until the dog is in a deep, nonresponsive state. only then does the vet adminster the fatal injection.
    my thoughts are with you and your dog. don’t hesistate to contact me if you have more questions.
    sincerely tammy

    Thank you so much, tammy! I like the idea of tranquilizer first…I need to make sure this is the procedure my Doc will do. I don’t want any surprises. I just don’t want to have to take Patch to the Vet his “last day”~he has been there so much-I don’t want his last day there. I am going to inquire on a house visit too.

    Thanks again for your thoughts!

    WOOF!

Leave a Reply

