A Holiday Poem for Patch

     

 the-shepherds-dog.jpg

My friend, fightingwindmills, sent me this poem for Patch.  She found it while she was reading her daughter poems from: Bright Star Shining: Poems for Christmas.  It brought tears to my eyes and a calming to my heart.  Thank you so much, fightingwindmills Wishing you and yours the best this Holiday Season.

The Shepherd’s Dog 

by Leslie Norris

 

Out on the windy hill
Under that sudden star
A blaze of radiant light
Frightened my master.

He got up, left our sheep,
Tramped over the moor.
And I, following,
Came to this open door,

Sidled in, settled down,
Head on my paws,
Glad to be here, away
From the wind’s sharpness.

Such warmth is in this shed
Such comfort from this Child,
That I forget my hard life,
Ignore the harsh world,

And see on my master’s face
The same joy I possess,
The knowledge of peace,
True happiness.

sheep-dog.jpg

 

4 Responses

  1. Awwww that Miss Windmills, what a sweetheart.

    She is a sweetheart! WOOF!

  2. That’s a pretty good poem. If you want to read a poem a little bit on the lighter side, please visit “Christmas Dog” on my blog.

    Merry Christmas!

    Going to read now. Merry Christmas to you too! WOOF!

  3. 🙂 I’m glad you could find a little comfort in this poem. Hopefully Patch is getting better.

    Thanks again for this poem!

  4. Our Dogs by David Jeffrey from Canada

    A love uncontested, without compromise,

    is what we see when we look into our lovely pets
    eyes.

    The way they adore us, with love to no end,

    is the reason we call them Man’s bestfriend.

    With tails a wagging and affection to spare,

    makes them so easy to cuddle despite all their hair.

    We treat them like children and adorn them with toys

    trust that they will play and protect,

    our own girls and boys.

    God gave us dogs so that we may know,

    the unconditional love,

    that only a pet can show.

Leave a Reply

