A Dog Sits Waiting

     dog.jpg

As you know-I am an animal lover.  I especially love dogs-and of course my dog Patch! Here is a poem about a waiting dog-it’s very sad, but oh so true.  If only the people responsible for dropping off animals by the roadside or anywhere had a heart and realized what they are doing to these animals. *Sniff*

A Dog Sits Waiting

by Kathy Flood

 

A dog sits waiting in the cold autumn sun,

Too faithful to leave, too frightened to run.

He’s been here for days now with nothing to do.

But sits by the road, waiting for you.

He can’t understand why you left him that day.

He thought you and he were stopping to play.

He’s sure you’ll come back and that’s why he stays.

How long will he suffer? How many more days?

His legs have grown week, his throat’s parched and dry.

He’s sick now from hunger and falls, with a sigh.

He lays down his head and closes his eyes.

I wish you could see how a waiting dog dies.

we-are-not-disposable.jpg

8 Responses

  1. Holy cow mer, I’m just sobbing. That is just about the saddest visual I can imagine for an animal.

    Isn’t it? I found this in the paper years ago and cut it out. I have it on my fridge. Just went to our place…been so long…again!

    WOOF!

  2. It breaks my heart to hear of people abandoning pets and children.

    Ditto! WOOF!

  3. That poem is really sad. I can’t imagine why someone would do that to a poor defenseless animal.

    It is sad and so sad that it happens too much!

  4. Glad you stopped by our place Mer. We miss ya!

    Right backacha! LYMI!

  5. So sad. It reminds me of the ASPCA commercial about abused animals with “Angel” playing. Terrible what people do to animals.

    It is so terrible! WOOF!

  6. This one breaks my heart every time I read it. Especially when you know it happens all the time.

    It is terrible and happens way too often! WOOF!

  7. I could have gone forever without reading that. So sad. I hope it helps one person to not do that.

  8. I dont know who Kathy Flood is, i am sure she is a very talented writer, because this is an amazing poem…it was even more amazing in its original format that my father had published in the early 70’s. So if anyone has any idea about how to contact the auther, i would greatly appreciate it…Me and my father both have a couple of questions to ask her! Thank you very much for anyone who has any information that can help us to contact the women claiming to be the auther of the poem!?

    Sincerely

    Marcel A Jones

    I am not sure-just found it googling

Leave a Reply

